Solar System


The solar system consists of the sun and everything that orbits around them, including planets, moons, asteroids, comets and meteoroids. It extends from the sun, a name that was given by the ancient Romans, and passes through the four inner planets , through the asteroid belt to the four gas giants and to the disk-shaped Kuiper belt and beyond to the cloud. spherical giant of Oort. Scientists estimate that its edge is about 15 billion kilometers from the sun.


What is the solar system?

It is a set formed by the celestial bodies and the sun , eight large planets , satellites, minor planets, asteroids , comets, and interstellar gas . It is part of the Milky Way which has millions of stars.


Characteristics of the solar system:

The main characteristics of the solar system are the following:

  • It is made up of a main star called the Sun and the bodies that accompany it.
  • It is made up of eight planets .
  • The earth only has the moon as its satellite .
  • Asteroids also revolve around the sun .
  • The planets and asteroids orbiting the sun in the same direction.

Discovery of the solar system:

Nicolás Copernicus published his book in 1543 with mathematical solutions to the heliocentric model, with the sun in the center. In 1704 the term ” solar system ” appeared in English and in 1705 Edmond Halley understood that sightings of a comet were the same object that happened every 75 or 75 years. This was the first evidence that things other than planets orbited the sun.

Until 1838 came the first experimental proof that the sun was the center of the solar system .


It is believed that the solar system formed from a cloud of gas and dust in space was altered. Another version is due to the explosion of a star called Supernova which caused waves in space that formed a cloud of gas and dust. This contraction caused the gas and dust to attract each other, giving rise to a solar nebula.

This cloud began to rotate and became hotter and hotter and became dense in the center, with a ring of gas and dust enveloping it, and its center was hotter and its ends colder. As this ring became thinner and thinner, the particles began to stick together and form clumps. Some groups formed planets or moons . At the center of the cloud, only rocky material could withstand extreme heat . As the cloud rotated, the center generated a wind stellar became a star , the sun.


The elements that make up the solar system are the following:

  • The sun : main star of this system.
  • The planets dwarves and gaseous
  • Satellites
  • Minor bodies like meteorites and asteroids .


It is a large celestial body that is made up of gases at high temperatures that can radiate electromagnetic radiation as a result of nuclear reactions that take place inside. The only star that has movement is the sun, and the others move but very slowly.

Planets of the solar system:

Planets are bodies that are rotating in orbits around the sun and that have enough mass for its gravity . The inner planets are Mercury , Venus , Earth, and Mars , and the outer planets are Jupiter , Saturn , Uranus, and Neptune.


Asteroids are objects rock that are orbiting around the sun are made of material waste left over from the collision of a planet. They are too small to be classified as dwarf planets . Its size can vary from Ceres , which is a dwarf planet, to the size of a pebble .

Frequent questions:

The most frequently heard questions that are related to the solar system are the following:

How it is composed?

It is composed of a single star that we know as the sun and that is the one that gives the name to this system. In addition, it has within its composition eight different planets that orbit the sun, as well as asteroids , natural satellites , comets , galactic dust and the interplanetary space between them.

Which galaxy you are in?

The place where our solar system is located is called the Milky Way . According to the investigations carried out, it has a mass of 1012 solar masses and is a spiral with a diameter of approximately 100,000 light years. We can say that it has between 200 and 400 billion stars . The distance from the Sun to the center of the galaxy is about 27,700 light years. The Milky Way is also part of a group of galaxies called the Local Group .

How many planets does the solar system have?

Currently it is considered that the solar system has 8 planets which are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.  Some years ago Pluto was considered a planet, but in 2006 it was classified as a dwarf planet .

What is the order of the planets?

The solar system has a total of oho planets that are orbiting the Sun. The planets placed in order of distance from the Sun are the following: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune.

Why is it called the solar system?

It receives that name because its planets , asteroids and comets are revolving around the sun and because all the bodies that are in it depend on the sun .

How old are you?

Looking for greater precision in the age of our solar system, research has found that the age is greater than previous estimates at 1.9 million years . The results of this investigation then have determined the age of the solar system is 4.568 million years old, that is, between 0.3 and 1.9 million years older than previous estimates.

What is the center of the solar system?

The center of the solar system is the Sun and everything revolves around it. The solar system is always in motion and contains eight planets and their moons , all of which orbit around the Sun. It should be mentioned that the Sun is the largest object in our solar system and that it has more than 99% of the mass of the solar system.

Leave a Comment