Developed countries


There are countries in the world that have high standards of living thanks to the wealth and technology of their industry and also to the strength of their well-managed democratic institutions. These countries are known as developed because their HDI human development indices are at the highest levels , relative to other countries in the world. They are also known as advanced economies, industrialized countries, countries with greater economic development or first world countries. The developed countries are mostly countries of the European continent and are industrialized, unlike underdeveloped countries that have an economy dependent on the sale of their raw material and the purchase of goods processed by the industry of other countries. Developed countries have a high level of cultural, commercial and industrial growth that ensure the quality of life of their citizens through their public and private services .

What are developed countries?

Developed or first world countries are those nations that have a high level of human development , in relation to the quality of life that they can offer to their citizens, as well as the sustained growth of their economy, their industry and their culture . The ten most developed countries are: Norway, Australia, the Netherlands, the United States, New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Germany and Sweden. The opposite of a developed country is an underdeveloped country.

  • Definition
  • Characteristics of developed countries
  • What are the developed countries
  • Importance


To define a developed country, it is necessary to take into account the quality of life that it can provide its citizens from its natural and technological wealth, its public and private institutions, and its health, education, security and infrastructure services.


The UN defines a developed country as one that can give its citizens a quality of life in a safe environment . However, the indicator that determines the status of developed in a country is the HDI human development index , which measures the wealth of the country and its population in relation to fields such as quality of life, health, education, among others. Generally, a developed country has an HDI value between 0.800 and 1, in addition to having a per capita Gross Domestic Product of $ 18,500 onwards .

Characteristics of developed countries

Among the most common characteristics of developed countries, the following can be mentioned:

  • They have a high level of industrial organization .
  • Its industrial development is related does not depend on its agricultural or livestock products.
  • They invest in technological development and the generation of consumer goods for their population and for export.
  • They have basic services that are easily accessible.
  • They give priority to the literacy and schooling of their citizens with quality public and private institutions.
  • Its financial system is stable and that is why developed countries are chosen by many companies to develop their investments.
  • They have health institutions that offer quality service.
  • Its public institutions work.
  • The margin of life is very high.
  • They have a high human development index .
  • They manage income distribution well.
  • Increases in employment and reduction in underemployment and unemployment.
  • They are industrialized countries and of economic modernization.
  • They have a good quality infrastructure and means of transport .
  • Social services serve all social classes .
  • They have the fastest rates of capital accumulation.
  • They have all kinds of foods.

What are the developed countries

Developed countries of Africa: the African continent does not have developed countries, but it does have developing countries.

Developed countries of America :

  • Canada
  • USA

Developed countries of Asia:

  • South Korea
  • Japan
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan


  • Macau

Developed countries of Europe :

  • Germany
  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • malt
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom United Kingdom
  • Czech Czech Republic
  • San Marino
  • Sweden
  • Swiss


  • Vatican City
  • Monaco

Developed countries of Oceania :

  • Australia
  • New Zealand


Developed or first world countries are a good example to follow for developing or underdeveloped countries because they give evidence of the optimal work of an industry, the solidity of state institutions, as well as the proper functioning of basic services such as education. health, safety and transportation.

The importance of knowing these types of countries can generate significant contributions of strategies to follow to improve the quality of life of the citizens of a country , in relation to basic services, cultural, political, technological and industrial development and the commercialization of national products at the international market level.

Leave a Comment