Abdominal quadrants


The abdominal quadrants are invisible limiting segments of the abdomen, in each of these there are various vital organs for the human being, their function is to delimit the spaces of the abdominal cavity in equal parts.

What are the abdominal quadrants?

The abdominal quadrants are not more than a part of a body cavity called the abdomen , which is located in the lower part of the thorax and in part of the pelvis, in this area is the navel which is an essential point of reference to determine the topographic division of the abdomen ; that is, from the navel it is measured with an axial line and the various spaces in said anatomical plexus are identified. In this way, the abdominal quadrants are imaginary spaces that delimit the abdomen, since in each of the quadrants there are various organs, generally only four of the spaces are counted :

  • The upper right quadrant.
  • The upper left quadrant.
  • The lower right quadrant.
  • The lower left quadrant.
  1. What are the abdominal quadrants
  2. Characteristics of the abdominal quadrants
  3. Organs
  4. Importance of the abdominal quadrants

What are the abdominal quadrants

In total there are 9 abdominal quadrants which are divided into three upper, three intermediate and three lower , which are identified as follows:


In the upper quadrants:

  • Right hypochondrium
  • Left hypochondrium
  • Epigastrium

In the middle quadrants.

  • Right side.
  • Left flank.
  • Mesogastrium.

In the lower quadrants:

  • Right lower quadrant.
  • Left iliac fossa.
  • Hypogastrium.

Each of these divided into three parts , as explained before, the upper ones, those that would be intermediate or medial and the lower ones; in turn, these quadrants have various functions and organs in their spaces in the anatomical plexus.

Characteristics of the abdominal quadrants

The characteristics of the abdominal quadrants are really very few , however, it could be said that some of these are the following:

  • They are imaginary spaces found in the anatomical space of the abdomen.
  • They are mostly recognized as delimiting .
  • In each of them there are various organs.
  • There are 9 abdominal quadrants.


In each of these spaces there are organs that are relevant for the optimal functioning of the organism, some of them will be mentioned below:

In the right upper quadrant are the following organs:

  • Liver.
  • Gallbladder.
  • Hepatic angle of the colon.
  • Adrenal gland.
  • Right kidney

In the epigastrium are the following organs:

  • Stomach.
  • Duodenum.
  • Pancreas.
  • Solar plexus.

In the left upper quadrant are the following organs:

  • Spleen tail.
  • Splenic angle of the colon.
  • Pancreas.
  • Adrenal gland.
  • Left kidney.

On the right flank are the following organs:

  • Ascending colon.
  • Right ureter.
  • Thin handles.

In the area of ​​the mesogastrium or the umbilical region are the following organs:

  • Thin handles.
  • Transverse colon.

On the left flank are the following organs:

  • Descending colon.
  • Left ureter.
  • Thin handles.

The following organs are found in the right iliac fossa:

  • Blind.
  • Cecal appendix.
  • Female annexes, which are the tube and the ovaries.

In the hypogastric area are the following organs:

  • Greater omentum.
  • Thin handles.
  • Urinary bladder.
  • Uterus in women.

The following organs are found in the left iliac fossa:

  • Sigmoid colon.
  • Left annexes of the woman.

Importance of the abdominal quadrants

Although the abdominal quadrants are not very relevant for people, when it is time to go to the doctor it is important to recognize the location of these and the organs that each one delimits, being in this way that anatomically speaking it is an advantage when intervening wounds as soon as possible, since these quadrants help us to position some organs and structure what would become the abdominal cavity.

Leave a Comment